$35 Shopping Spree

For anyone who does not have daylight savings, let me fill you in on the glory, and the pain, of the bi-annual event. In the fall, we gain an hour. This is great until 5:00 PM rolls around and it’s pitch black.In the spring, we lose an hour. Just the opposite of “falling back”, the day we spring forward is horrible until 6:00 PM, when we look out the window and it is still light.

So when we didn’t get out of bed until 11 AM, I didn’t beat myself up too much. We went to the gym, and then hit Fred Meyer. It appears that the rest of Issaquah (suburb of Seattle) was also in attendance. I try to do my grocery shopping on weeknights to avoid these crowds. Weekends mean that families (mostly dads) are forced to bring their children to the store with them, which creates even more chaos. I suppose I haven’t mentioned this yet, but I’m never having kids. Not any time soon at least. When and if I do, I’ll avoid sending my husband to the store with the kids. I know him well enough now to know that he would be too distracted by the electronics department and babysitting that he would come home with the following (his favorite) items: frozen pizza, potato chips, bagels, diet coke, and sugar-free popsicles.

Ok, so on to the goods.  What I bought at the store today (for $35):

  • Fat Free Sour Cream (16 oz)
  • Medium Salsa (16 oz)
  • Organic Spring Mix (1 lb)
  • Low Fat Cottage Cheese (32 oz)
  • Organic Fat Free Milk (1/2 gallon)
  • Onion Bagels (6)
  • Eggs, Natural (2 dozen)
  • Corn Tortillas (30)
  • Bananas (1 lb)
  • Yellow Onions (2 small)
  • Oranges (3.5 lbs/5 oranges)
  • Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast (4 large pieces)
  • Big K Diet Soda (4 cases–Don’t judge, we dietitians really like our diet soda!)

The grand total: $34.48. I plan to use the ingredients to make chicken enchiladas, chicken salad, huevos rancheros (my version),  oatmeal pancakes (I already have oatmeal on hand), and we’ll snack on the rest.

So, I bet you are wondering how I bought all of that organic stuff (1/2 gallon milk and 2 dozen eggs for $2.70)? They had “Manager’s Special” stickers on them, which means they are nearing the end of their shelf life.  I know, I know. The food is almost past it’s prime, why should you buy it?  It’s…FINE!!  None of it has actually expired, so if you plan to eat it or freeze it right away, the risk is extremely low.  I buy these items on a very regular basis, and have just learned to incorporate them into my menu in a timely manner.  I’m not the most rigid about dates, I just make sure to look at or smell things that I’m unsure about.  It has yet to fail me. I rarely, if ever, am sick.

I also use coupons whenever possible, but mainly stick to the store coupons (it takes me too much time to sort through manufacturer’s coupons, they’re either things I don’t need or you have to buy multiple items to reap a small reward). I do check weekly ads every week to see where the items that I am likely to buy are on sale.

That’s about all there is to it, I’ll keep you posted on what I create!

PS: please forgive my photography skills, they are VERY LIMITED!

Leave a Reply

