Grocery Shopping Week Two

So, obviously blogging every day is a difficult task for me. My sister told me she would read my blog every day to get “tips” from me. I had to inform her that I would love it if she did, but unfortunately she would read the same post over and over again until I decided to write another.  I would like to blog every shopping trip I go on, but who knows if that will actually happen.  For now, I will just log my “bigger” trips–and then brag about how great I am at buying good stuff on the cheap.  Sound good? I think so.

Our week has been pretty busy. My Mr. occasionally does stand-up comedy, but hasn’t been involved for several months.  On St. Patty’s day, he was asked to perform at a local wine bar (yes, there IS a wine bar in Issaquah, apparently everyone who goes there is over 40).  He killed, even I laughed at his jokes (not that I don’t think he’s funny, but I’ve heard the jokes at least 50 times).  As I went into the bar, I noticed signage on the doors indicating a $15 cover charge.  I really didn’t want to pay it, so I tried to be sneaky. Apparently, I was so nervous about avoiding the entrance fee that the lady at the door didn’t believe I was over 21. The conversation was something like this:

Lady at the door: Hi, are you here for comedy night?

Me: My fiance is performing, do you know where I can find him?

Lady at the door: Well, how old are you?

Me: (nervously) Twenty-ff.. almost twenty-five.

Lady: Um, can I see your ID?

Me: Ok… (digging frantically through my wristlet, unable to locate it immediately. Finally, I handed it to her.)

The lady then proceeded to look at it, held it to the light, tipped it around to see the funky metallic thing, etc. She spent a good 30 seconds doing this.  Occasionally I’ll recite things like “3-28-85” or “My address is XXXX Cove Road, Ellensburg.”  But since she was so suspicious, I decided to keep my trap shut.  Finally, I was granted admission, but I believe that she was hesitant to do so.  Nonetheless, I avoided said “cover charge.”

Ok, so now on to my shopping trip. Here’s what it looked like (Brian had already opened the pizza, chips, and salsa.  I had to steal the chips from him for the picture, he was waiting very impatiently on the side, but I told him he wasn’t allowed in the picture because he might ruin it…):

For $30.20 I bought:

Fred Meyer: $13.75

  • Tortilla Chips
  • Salsa (24 oz)
  • 1/3 less fat Cream Cheese (8oz)
  • Low Fat Cottage Cheese (2-24 oz containers)
  • Light Yogurt (10-6 oz containers)

Safeway: $22.23

  • Tilapia (3 packages for $5.78. These were a clearance item, I stuck them right in the freezer.)
  • 1 large yellow onion
  • Broccoli crown
  • Mushrooms (2-8 oz packages)
  • Fat Free Cream Cheese (1-8oz package)
  • Safeway Frozen Pizza (Brian loves frozen pizza. I let him eat it once an a while…)

I don’t shop at Safeway much anymore.  I find myself there when things are on sale, and this weekend they had lean ground turkey on sale for $1.99 for a 20 oz package.  I went specifically for that, and left with other things that I didn’t necessarily need, but can make use of (this is allowed!).  They were out of the turkey when I arrived, so I was sure to ask for a rain check.  I’ve been taking advantage of rain checks more often, because it allows me the freedom to purchase the item at the lower price when it works for me. Remember this–it is not your fault if the store runs out of something when it is on sale.  ALWAYS ASK FOR A RAIN CHECK!

The tortilla chips, salsa, and pizza were all “treats” for Brian.  But, they were pretty cheap, and will feed him for a couple of days.  Not really healthy, but, you know the dietitian’s mantra: EVERYTHING IN MODERATION! I made some “stuffed mushrooms” with the mushrooms and fat free cream cheese.  I think it’s yummy, but the recipe is still in development. It may require some 1/3 less fat cream cheese to taste a little more normal…

We still have stuff from our chicken enchiladas last week.  I really didn’t make much of anything I had anticipated–things came up.  I ate a lot of “cupboard food” like puffed wheat cereal for dinner.  Don’t kill me, it was delicious. It’s really cheap and doesn’t immediately get soggy when you pour milk over it.  I like to mix it with a little bit of Fiber One, uncooked old fashioned oats, Splenda, and cinnamon.  Side note: Walmart has a store-brand sucralose (aka Splenda). It is far less expensive and is essentially the same product.  Nonetheless, I will probably make chicken enchiladas again, as well as some tilapia and broccoli.  We might have some oatmeal pancakes, we’ll just have to see!

This week is what we call our “Birthday Week.” Brian’s birthday is March 25, and mine is the 28th.  I imagine two nights will be spent out for dinner, which we know, isn’t really budget or figure friendly.  But hey, we only have birthdays once a year, right?

Leave a Reply

