Actual Productivity!

Today, I was actually productive.  I woke up at a reasonable time, fed the dog, and drank coffee.  Waking up, doing what we call a “victory lap”, eating breakfast and going to the bathroom wore Gertie out within the first 15 minutes of us being up.  So naturally, she needed to take a nap

While Gertie napped, I had some breakfast, yogurt with ground flax seeds. I also love to add flax to my oatmeal (at the end of cooking) and to my cereal. Yum!

So, these seeds are “ground” in my food processor, a device that doesn’t do a very good job grinding flax.  I’ve had the best luck with blenders, but I don’t currently have a blender so I use my food processor. Since it doesn’t work very well, I end up eating almost whole flax seeds.  I always buy them whole thinking/hoping/praying that my FP will do the trick, but it doesn’t seem to. I know that buying whole flax seeds sort of defeats the purpose, but let me explain my reason.

Whole flax seeds can be purchased in bulk for somewhere between $0.30-$0.70 per pound.  They are cheap.  However, as whole seeds, they cannot be broken down by the body.  They’ll come out exactly how they came in.  So, if you buy them, they need to be ground and then FROZEN.  Why frozen?  This will ensure that the omega 3’s remain intact so that you will actually get some benefit from them. They need to be used within a month or two, so only grind as much as you really think you can use.  Also, heating flax eliminates most positive effects of the fatty acids.   You can buy flax seed meal at the store, but it’s a lot more expensive and you don’t know how long it’s been on the shelf.  It could have been exposed to a variety of conditions and already lost it’s nutritional value.

I guess the moral of this whole tangent is that I need a blender.  Maybe that’s what I’ll ask for for Christmas!

So I left the house and dropped my car off at the tire center and walked to the nearest 24 Hour Fitness.  This is not my favorite of the bunch, but it works in a pinch.  Of course it was raining and I didn’t have a hood/umbrella, but I had good shoes so I cold walk quickly.  Apparently, it’s snowing in the mountains, so everyone in Bellevue flocked to get studs on their rear wheel drive BMWs/Mercedes/Lexus cars. I don’t understand, but I’m really excited because getting studs on means I am ready for ski season!

I digress… And I digest! (HA! Seriously, where do I come up with this stuff?)

Ok, so back to productivity.  I gave Gertie a bath and finished/mailed my passport stuff for that trip I’m taking in December. I hate filling out government paperwork.  They give way too many instructions, thus rendering it more confusing (to me). I did my best and hope that I did it right.  I tried my best not to write outside the boxes, because it’s clear that they want all writing to be inside the confines of said white boxes.

My recipe for the day is my latest concoction, which I have deemed “Pumpkin Stuff” inspired from Pumpkin Fluff (here is a recipe, in case you were curious).  I’ve made pumpkin fluff before but find that I would rather just eat it with a spoon instead of dipping something (graham crackers, apples, etc.) in it.  Because of the cottage cheese, it has a slight cheesecake flavor, and is super yummy.

1/2 c fat free cottage cheese, pureed in a food processor (so it’s smooth)

Mix with:

1/2 c canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)

1 container light vanilla yogurt

Add a sprinkle of cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice to taste, add dash of splenda if you like it more sweet.

Top with a dollop of light/fat free whipped topping and some crunched up almonds.  Yum!

PS, do you ever wonder what is the BEST way to chop/crush/break almonds/nuts into smaller pieces? Meet “The Nut Crusher”.

Duh, I know it’s a meat tenderizer (although for a majority of my life I did believe that this was a nut crusher).  Let me tell you, it works REALLY well for crushing nuts (or anything for that matter).  Simply place your nuts into a plastic baggie, seal, and hammer away!  Within moments you will have perfectly crushed nuts.

I don’t have anything planned yet, but I’m pretty sure I’m going to have something awesome to say tomorrow.  So you should come back then!

One thought on “Actual Productivity!

  1. Pingback: Creativity in the kitchen < New job | Grocery Girl, RD

Leave a Reply

