Gertie in the City

Today started out as a pretty typical day.  I slept in, let Gertie out, and sat on the couch and drank coffee and then went to the gym. Yaaaawn.

When I got back from the gym, I had a light bulb moment.  The weather was good (albeit a little cold), so why not take Gertie to Seattle to see Brian and play?  She needed a walk, and quite frankly, I’m tired of doing the same loop we’ve been doing over and over again for the past month.

But first, I needed to have lunch.  I had heard of this “muffin” made out of flax and egg and wanted to give it a try.  I’m not going to lie, it was funky.  I made it into a round disc so that I could put meat and cheese between it and eat it like a sandwich.  This was the end result.

Oh yeah, and for this one, ignore all of the stuff I said yesterday about not buying ground flax and not heating flax.  This breaks all of the rules.

1/4 c ground flax seeds/meal

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 egg whites

salt to taste

Spray whatever microwave-safe conduit you choose to use to cook said “muffin” in (I used a flat bottomed Pyrex bowl) and cook for 1 1/2 minutes on high.  Let me know what you think, I’m still undecided on this one.

I took the “muffin” and cut it through the middle (to make what would be similar to two pieces of bread).  I sprayed each side with butter spray and put some ham and a sprinkle of mozzarella cheese in the middle.  I cooked it like grilled cheese, which made the “muffin” more like bread, but it still was weird.  If you’re interested, there is a “sweet” version of said “muffin” which can be found here.  I might try it just to see if it is any better, but I think it might be something like sweet/cinnamony eggs, which really doesn’t sound too appealing.

First we stopped in to see Brian at work.  He wanted to come with us, but he couldn’t leave yet.  So we left him and went to the Sculpture Park!

Since we still had lots of time to kill, we headed to Pike’s Place to dink around.  I bought some flowers, but nothing else (I’m trying to use up the stuff in my fridge). This venture basically made today the best day of Gertie’s life.  People feel really comfortable just walking up to dogs and petting them, and my attention-seeking dog feels equally as comfortable walking up to people and being pet.  I swear, if you are single, this is the way to meet people. If you are interested, I might be willing to rent her out.

Recently, Brian and I discovered that Gertie is into music.  It was evidenced today by her infatuation with the street musician (I was pulling really hard on the leash and she wouldn’t move).

And in case you hadn’t already concluded that we have the most pathetic dog in the world, today, she acquired a cone. Actually, we purchased it for her at PetSmart.  Like most Frenchies, she has allergies and has itchy bumps all over her body.  They’ve improved, but a few days ago the bumps appeared around her right eye.  Unfortunately, she itches it so hard with her left leg that it started bleeding.  Because last week we had to take her to the vet due to a disgusting emetic episode (um, we think she ate insulation foam), we are a little hesitant to rush her in. I finally called the vet today and they recommended a cone so she can’t scratch her eye.

So, Gertie got a cone.

She looks terribly pathetic and she’s trying to take it off.  We were going to let her keep it off while we were home, but she still scratched, so we put it back on.  She’s not too happy about it!

Last but not least, I made an awesome dinner.  My version of huevos rancheros is quite possibly the cheapest, easiest meal, ever.  I paired them with some of my version hash browns to make a great mid-week dinner.

“Huevos Rancheros”

3 eggs + a couple scoops of salsa, scrambled together

Sprinkle of cheese on top

Once cheese melts, pile it all onto a TJ’s Whole Wheat and Corn Tortilla (you can see more info here). Top with salsa and non fat plain yogurt (what I had on hand, otherwise FF or low fat sour cream works).

Hash Browns

Spray pan with cooking spray and add:

Diced onions and minced garlic (as much as you like)

Frozen shredded potatoes (check to be sure no seasoning or oil is added, just plain potatoes)

Cook onions and garlic until fragrant.  Add potatoes and spray with a little more cooking spray. Flip periodically to distribute the browning/crispness.  You really don’t have to use much oil (I just used cooking spray, it it was easily less than 1/2 teaspoon worth) to make them taste great!  I would also recommend investing in a Misto if you don’t already have one.  I use mine ALL the time!

As a final note, I have to share these awesome flowers I got at the market today. I couldn’t resist a bouquet that featured veggies!

Leave a Reply

