I really do love Trader Joe’s

I have a love-love relationship with Trader Joe’s.  Since moving to western Washington, I’ve never lived more than a few miles from one. They have the best products for the price, and in some cases, they have the ONLY products (I can never get enough Cat’s Cookies!).  But, like most great guys, he’s still not perfect.

Here’s what the nutrition facts label for their Whole Wheat and Corn Tortillas reads:

Here’s what two of them looked like next to each other (they were pretty different in size):

Here’s what my scale reads:

And despite a variation in size of each tortilla, they actually weighed almost the exact same amount- as did every other tortilla in the entire package.

The consistency in weights of each tortilla tells me something: that the tortillas are purposely measured larger than what is reported on the package.  People eat these thinking they are consuming 57 grams of tortilla (120 calories) but in reality, they are consuming between 75-77 g (158-162 calories).   In my food law class, I remember there being a percentage that manufacturers were allowed to “differ” from actual values, but can’t remember exactly how much.  I’ll look it up (even if it means digging through hundreds of pages of codes/regulations).

I’ll admit, my scale could be off, but 20 grams seems to be a pretty significant difference, no?

I found the same to be true when I measured the Bran Flakes.

The amount listed was for a 1.1 oz serving, but when I measured 3/4 cup, it was 1 1/2 oz.  1.1 oz (or 30 g) came out to look more like 1/2 cup.

1.1 oz (or 30 g) came out to look more like 1/2 cup (note: I don’t usually use a liquid measuring cup for dry ingredients, but I wanted to be able to illustrate the measurement).

I’m not going to stop buying/using these items, but it’s really good to know what I’m actually consuming! Also, if you like this kind of thing, here is a really fun site.

Last night I had to take a CPR class so I didn’t get home until 10:30.  So, regardless of what the label said, I made a tortilla topped with pumpkin-pizza sauce, some black forest ham, leftover roasted veggies and mozzarella for dinner.  I stuck it under the broiler for a few minutes to heat it up, and it was yummy!

Pumpkin Pizza Sauce

Equal parts:

Traditional Marinara Sauce from Trader Joe’s (my FAVORITE marinara sauce!!)

Solid pack canned pumpkin

Mix together and spread on to “pizza”! Use as much or as little as you like.  It’s definitely thicker, but it adds a little bit of oomph to your regular pizza sauce.

Finally, an image of my pathetic dog:

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but the first thing I did when we got Gertie was look into what to feed her.  I keep going to the pet stores with the intention of purchasing the “good” dog food, but can’t bring myself to spend $22 on a 3 lb bag.  That would be more expensive than just making my food.  Gertie and I have been talked to a few times about a “raw” diet, but it still kinda freaks me out.  I was really happy to get validation from this video.

Has anyone tried raw food with their dog? What has been your experience?

One thought on “I really do love Trader Joe’s

  1. Hi! I love your blog!! AND I love this post. I wondered if I was the only one who noticed that weight and serving sizes aren’t the same. I’m happy a R.D. took the initiative to put the word out there. I just launched my blog and am doing product reviews on basically anything with fruit and or nuts in them and right now I am specifically doing fruit and nut bars. Would love to hear your thoughts seeing how successful your blog is!
    http://www.mynuttyperfectionism.com

    -Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

