Pumpkin and Peanut Butter

These two ingredients made appearances in my kitchen today.  Not together – separate appearances.

This morning, I tried pumpkin oatmeal for the first time.  I saw it here and here and decided it was time to give pumpkin + oatmeal a try.

…and I’m glad I did!  I modified the recipe a bit, I used:

1/2 c-3/4 c water

1/4 c old fashioned oats

1/4 c wheat bran

1/2 c canned pumpkin

pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, splenda, sugar free maple syrup, or anything else you like in your oatmeal!

a few chopped almonds sprinkled on top

Bring water to a boil.  Add oats, lower heat, and cook until oats have absorbed the water, but not quite sticking to the pan yet.  Add wheat bran and stir.  Add pumpkin, spices, splenda, syrup,  and stir. Top with almonds. I also like to top mine with a little milk, but don’t cook my oats with milk. It rocked my world and I’m officially into pumpkin oatmeal. Actually, I’m into pumpkin. period.  I even ate the same thing for lunch as I had for dinner last night. Pumpkin + Marinara = love.

Ok, back to this morning. Since I already had my pot out, I decided to cook some hot cereal samples I got forever ago. In separate batches, of course.

I cooked them and put them in the fridge for later.

This afternoon, I attempted a recipe I had seen here for flourless peanut butter cookies.  (PS, if you haven’t read this blog, it rocks.  Joy is really funny/creative/talented.)

I used TJ’s peanut flour + water + splenda + 1 egg.

These were supposed to look like peanut butter cookies.  Mine looked like runny peanut butter, thus had to make them into bars.

Unfortunately, they still didn’t turn out as I had hoped.  I am admitting defeat, but might still try to make a “healthy” version of this recipe later on. Nonetheless, I snapped a pretty shot, but these aren’t quite ready to eat in this form.

Not every recipe can turn out perfect, right?  Well…

I opened my cupboards and refrigerator to come up with an alternative.  I found chocolate chips and cream cheese, and remembered this recipe and decided to make my own version.

I stuck the bars + 2 oz fat free cream cheese in the food processor and mixed them up.  I then melted 2 Tbsp dark chocolate chips in the microwave (1 minute) and put them in a baggie.  I cut the tip off of the baggie and piped the chocolate over the top.

Viola! I got 15 balls out of it and they turned out WAYYYY better than the bars… Victory!

I think Gertie is frustrated because she can’t itch her eye OR update her facebook!  However, the cone didn’t stop her from dancing with me earlier!

Last but not least, I found a really cool app for my iPhone called Instagram.  It’s free and lets me add fun filters to pictures taken with my phone.  I’m having a lot of fun playing with this, so be patient with me if there are some funky looking pictures – I’m exploring my creative side!

Leave a Reply

