Pump it up

Yesterday was the first day of the new gig! After hardly sleeping a wink, I spent the first four hours in orientation and then headed to my work site.  I still have a ton to learn, but so far I’ve really enjoyed myself.  The staff is all super friendly and have worked at this facility for a really long time.  Because I’ve spent a majority of my career in school food service, health care is a bit of a change, but, so far I’m really enjoying it.

Also, in case you didn’t know this about me, I absolutely love polka dots.  If you noticed in my food photos, I do in fact have two sets of dishes.  One plain white, and one black and white polka dot.  I was at Target the other day and found an adorable polka dot cardigan that I couldn’t resist.  This morning when I was leaving for work, I realized I was matching…

So, now that I’ve identified the positives to working (new fun job, cool clothes, etc.), the downside to working after a week off is the fact that I really don’t have much time to cook or exercise.  I did get up and go to the gym before work this morning, which was really great.  I think I will have to continue to do that in order to get to bed at a reasonable time and potentially be able to cook once and a while.

Last night, I was so tired by the time I got home I decided that I’d put some beans on a tortilla (honestly this is one of my favorite meals, so simple, so easy, so cheap and chock full of fiber.)

I opened my refrigerator and found that there was not a whole serving worth of refried beans left.  What could I use to “pump it up?” I asked myself.  And then I looked to another shelf, “PUMPKIN!” I exclaimed.  Actually there was no external dialogue, only internal.  So I mixed equal parts canned fat free refried beans and canned solid pack pumpkin, a little bit of salsa and a dollop of plain yogurt.

I mixed it all together and put it on the last of my TJ’s tortillas.  It was really delicious and a great way to add bulk and nutrition all at the same time.  It can be seasoned more, but the addition of the salsa was enough for me.

Unfortunately, catastrophy struck the Hurley household tonight: my stove top stopped working.

I know it doesn’t really look broken.  And it shouldn’t be – it’s only a month and a half old.  But guess what? One side isn’t working and it made a huge explosion sound and all of the flames turned green.  Brian spent almost 2 hours trying to fix it. He finally conceded (you know, he didn’t want to play with gas and stuff) and a repair man is coming next week.  Dang!!

I literally spent an hour chopping and dicing and roasting and opening and microwaving to prepare my huge pot of “veggie stuff” that I can eat this week with some spaghetti squash.   I didn’t get to quite complete the cooking process because the stove broke toward the end.  So now I have garlic breath because the garlic didn’t quite get cooked enough.  Gross.

In case you are wondering, my “veggie stuff” is typically comprised of this:

  • Onion and garlic, sauteed until slightly browned
  • 2-3 different types of veggies (today it was 1 roasted eggplant that I pureed in the food processor and1 head roasted cauliflower)
  • ~ 2 cups cooked butternut squash (boiled, usually)
  • 1-2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 1-18 oz jar of TJ’s marinara sauce
  • 1- 15oz can beans (any kind)
  • any seasonings you like!

I put this over spaghetti squash with some cheese. It is a super easy meal (when it’s all cooked ahead of time) and is really good and good for you!  Oh, and in case you are wondering, it doesn’t really look very good, but it tastes amazing.

And that’s all I wrote!

2 thoughts on “Pump it up

  1. The repairman comes on the day after thanksgiving between 8am and 5pm. If anyone wants to come over and watch football for 9 hours, call me…

Leave a Reply

