Creativity in the kitchen < New job

What I mean is, my priority this week is my new job and time to cook and play with recipes and do dishes this week is on the back burner (no pun intended? … actually, it kinda was.).   I know I haven’t mentioned this yet, but the food in the cafeteria at work is awesome.  I know it sounds like an oxymoron, but, yes – this hospital has good food!

I am really glad that I cooked a few nights ago, before my stove had a malfunction.  The meal giant pot of food I prepared that night has been feeding since then.  The problem is, it wasn’t quite cooked all the way and there was a lot of garlic in that mix.  So put two and two together = crazy strong garlic flavor.  It’s a little much for me, and I hope I’m not emitting it like crazy at work.  If so, I’d feel pretty bad for my new co-workers.

I tried to make my delicious spiced almond butter again, but for some reason it didn’t work out as well this time.  I think I used too much sugar free syrup (no measurements) before it formed the “buttery” texture and I ended up with a crumbly, oily mess.  It’s not particularly spreadable, and it reminds me of a chewy graham cracker crust in texture.  I may try to find something creative to do with it this weekend while I make another attempt at spiced almond butter.  Any suggestions on what could be done?

My other “new” recipe is a rendition of my pumpkin-yogurt stuff that has cottage cheese and no yogurt.

1/2 c fat free cottage cheese

1-2 Tbsp fat free cream cheese (just because I had it on hand)

1/2 cup pumpkin

splenda, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, sf maple syrup to taste

Put all of the above ingredients in a food processor and process until creamy. Add a dollop of lite or fat free whipped topping for fun!  I stirred mine in before the photo was taken.

Last but certainly not least, Gertie still has what we have lovingly come to know as “The Stupid Cone” around her head.  It has been hilarious to watch her try to figure out how to get up the stairs, jump up onto the couch and scratch her eye through the cone. And yes, she really scratches the cone in an effort to get to her eye.  She also runs into a lot of things with the cone.  We’ve tried to take it off a few times so that she can rest without it, but it doesn’t work because she’ll start scratching at her eye instantly.  Poor thing.

Um, yeah, she often sleeps with an eye part open.  It’s kinda weird.

One thought on “Creativity in the kitchen < New job

Leave a Reply

