Snow, Snuggies, and Turkey

So, this week has been a little crazy.  It started off with snow in Seattle.  For those of you who may not be familiar with what that means, let me fill you in.

  1. When it “snows” it is only about  1″-3″ MAX.  And usually it melts within 24 hours.
  2. No one can/wants to/will drive in it.  Everyone is petrified and thus they just stay home. Or stop in the middle of the freeway, park, and abandon their cars.  Cars literally litter the road.
  3. There might be justification in this fear of driving because the roads are hardly or not at all maintained.
  4. The majority of the days following snow (when everyone finally makes it to work) are spent describing experiences, accidents, and most importantly, how long it took to get home the night before.
  5. Every school is closed for the whole week.  Literally, not a single district was open Tuesday or Wednesday before Thanksgiving.

I say this somewhat sarcastically because I learned to drive in Eastern Washington, where 5-10″ of snow overnight is not uncommon.  And because of this, school was hardly ever canceled (I remember having two days canceled through my entire k-12 career). Regardless, it snowed in Seattle and it was as if the apocalypse had arrived.  I thought it was kind of funny.  It did get really cold this week, so I thought it was appropriate to get Gertie a Snuggie. She managed to figure out how to get out of it within a couple of hours, but it was cute while it lasted.

It was also Thanksgiving!! Brian, my parents and me made the trek to Brian’s parents house and had Thanksgiving with his family.  There was a lot of food, but of course I forgot to take a picture.  I made a green salad with dried cranberries, cinnamon almonds (from TJ’s), blue cheese and apples.  Gertie waited patiently for morsels, but she only got a tiny bit.  She was super interested in this wheat grass that is actually for Brian’s mom’s cat.

Because dessert is typically my favorite, I didn’t forget to take pictures of the awesome spread, featuring pumpkin pie and my mom’s famous peach cobbler and nutmeg sauce.

The cobbler is more of a pie type item, with filling in the bottom of the dish and a layer of crust on the top.  I’ve tried to make this dessert in a healthier way, but it’s almost impossible to replicate the deliciousness of the full fat version.  My mom also insists on always using whole milk for the nutmeg sauce, but I think it tastes just as good made with skim milk.  To be honest, I’m more of a cake person, pie just isn’t my thing, but I love this stuff.  Since I don’t really like the crust, I usually scoop the filling out from under the crust and eat it with a little sauce on top.  This is usually a summer dessert in my family, but because Brian’s mom LOVES this stuff my mom had to make it for Thanksgiving dinner.

There weren’t many leftovers, so the next night I cooked a turkey I got from work for free (!).  I had never cooked a turkey before and decided to use an oven bag so that I could put it in and walk away.  To go along with it, I made mashed sweet potatoes and had a salad.

I was particularly proud of my yams.  Brian loved them, and he “usually doesn’t like sweet potatoes.” (he said that). The sweet potatoes were on sale and I had the rest of the ingredients in my fridge.  Score!

4 large sweet potatoes (I made a lot so we would have leftovers)

~1/4 c fat free cream cheese

~1/2 small onion, diced

~1/2 c plain yogurt (I used non fat)

Peel, dice, and boil sweet potatoes until soft.  Drain and place in mixing bowl.

Place diced onions in a microwave safe bowl with 1-2 tbsp water and microwave for 3 minutes.

Add cream cheese, yogurt, and onion to sweet potatoes and mix with mixer until creamy.  Add more yogurt if needed.

(PS, I tend to use the terms yams and sweet potatoes interchangeably.  While there is a difference, I found a nice description here that discusses the difference.)

One positive about snow in Seattle is that we can be guaranteed that there is snow in the mountains.  Thus, ski season is upon us again.  I didn’t get any photos of the lines (they were long!!) but I did get one cool shot of the mountains.  I’m sure there will be many more where this came from!

And just because it’s hilarious, here is Brian with Gertie’s cone:

Leave a Reply

